4C's Blog

Blogging our work to the world!

Our visit to the Science Action Centre at Bishop’s Stortford College

on 05/02/2016

On Wednesday 3rd February we paid a visit to the science Action Centre. We had a wonderful time!

IMG_0049IMG_0048IMG_0046IMG_0044IMG_0043IMG_0041IMG_0040IMG_0038IMG_0039IMG_0037IMG_0036IMG_0035IMG_0034IMG_0033

Post you accounts of the visit here.


39 Responses to “Our visit to the Science Action Centre at Bishop’s Stortford College”

  1. Gabriel says:

    At first we entered the room full of extraordinary experiments. Then we had lunch, mainly because we were starving after the long trip. For lunch I had: sushi X2, raspberries, a packet of pickeled onion flavour monster munch crisps and a biscuit bar. 🙂 When I finish my lunch we went off to explore the room. The first experiment I did was called ‘Anti-Gravity Machine’ or something like that. What you did was drop a heavy piece of cork down a metal tube. When the piece of cork is falling, the piece of cork is falling really slowly, and when you drop the piece of cork outside the tube the piece of cork falls normally! My favourite experiment was the noughts and crosses game. In the noughts and crosses game one side has the board and the other is blank. What happens basically separating the two rivals is a red piece of glass, and the red glass projects the board from one side to the other! P.S. there is not a projecter on the piece of red glass! So when you play the game you think how does this work? Well don’t ask me I don’t know! After that we had to go round filling in a sheet about all the experiments. As we left I was really sad to leave! 🙁 I had such a great time at the science department! 🙂 But sadly I had a giant nose bleed on the coach!

  2. Robin says:

    On Wednesday 3rd February 2016 my class went to a science experiment centre in Bishop’s Stortford Collage. Everything was hands on and very clever.

    I liked all of the experiments. I thought that the plasma ball and the noughts and crosses were quite cool. There were a number of other categories including: Optical illusions, magnets, weight, the sense of touch and light.

    The optical illusions were mini discs with a little spike coming out of it. Then it spins on the spike and your eyes get adapted to the look and when you look up you can see a flash of light that is not really there. My favourite was the black and white stripes witch looks like it is spiralling.

    The magnets were very strong so you could use them in a number of ways. My favourite was the penny drop experiment. It is where you try and make the longest chain of pennies.

    There were lots of weight experiments. There were ones where you could see how heavy a tin of golden syrup weighs on each planet, and lots more. My favourite was the drop stand where you put a marble at the top and the drop stand acts as a slide.

    There were really only two experiments for the sense of touch. That was the plasma ball and the water bowl. On the water bowl you wet your hands and rub them on the handles, if you have the magic touch then water will spray in your face. The plasma ball sends electricity flying around the ball and if you put your finger on it a beam of electricity will come towards it and the beam will be a lot clearer than the others. But if you put your palm on the top one clear beam will shoot towards your palm.

  3. jack says:

    The trip to the science center was brilliant. When we arrived we sat down and had lunch then Mrs. Craig said we were allowed to go around and have a go on all the different activities.
    The first thing I had a look at was a large wooden object that looked like a tree and it had a ball that went down it like my marble run at home.
    My favourite thing there was a large set of 4 hanging balls attached to string. You had to pull the string back on the first ball then let it go so that it knocked the other balls and made the end ball move backwards and then come back and hit the other balls. It carried on doing this even though I only pulled the string once.
    There was also a running water tap that didn’t have a water pipe. The water came from a wire attached to some flowers behind it.

    I had a go at rapping into a microphone that created sound waves. It showed the sound waves change and move as I changed the tone of my voice.

    Lots of the experiments showed how gravity works in different ways, one was where two magnets that had different textured surfaces one was rough and looked like a scratched magnet the other was completely smooth. They were put into a tube and went down at different speeds because of the different textures. The scratched rough magnet was the quickest. There was also an experiment where a large piece of cork was put down a tube and because there wasn’t much gravity it went down really slowly.

    I used the plasma ball that looked like a fortunetellers ball. When you put your hands and fingers on it, it had electric waves that looked like lightening and the electricity traced the movement of your fingers and made different patterns.

    I really liked the machine that had a foam tube that blasted out air. When you pressed a button air came out fast and hard from a tube in the middle and this blew a ball up in the air and it stayed there while the air was blowing. It looked really cool.

    There was a Chinese singing bowl. This was a bowel with a carved fish at the bottom of it and it was full of water. It had two gold handles. I soaked my hands in water then rubbed the gold handles hard and fast this created lots of bubbles in the bowl and it looked like a geezer that was exploding.

    The curved mirror made me look like an oompa lumpa from Charlie and the chocolate factory. When I walked away from it I was small and fat and if I jumped high it only looked like I was jumping a little bit. When I walked close to the mirror I got really tall. There was a Tardis of mirrors and when I waved it was like there was loads of Jacks waving back. They also had a coin spinning in a yellow vortex like one of the charity boxes you see in shops or airports.
    Miles and I tried the piece of paper with dots on that made it looked like your hand was spinning.

    They also had a set of Treacle tins that showed the different weights of all the planets. I tried lifting them, Jupiter was the heaviest and I couldn’t lift it.
    I had a great afternoon and loved being allowed to touch all the different experiments and have a go at everything.

  4. George says:

    On Thursday the 3rd of February 2016 my class paid a visit to the Bishop’s Stortford College Science Action Centre. We went there on the coach. It took 1 hour to get there. Once we were there we had to eat our pack lunches next we went of to explore the Science Action Centre. I saw a bridge building table, blowing machine, a air gun, spinning wheels, a marble run and magnets. Afterwards we did a sheet. The sheets had letters A to M the letters were stuck to the projects on the wall. A was next to a tv room next I went to look for K was a rocket description. I hope we have a another Science trip like that.

  5. Miles B says:

    On Wednesday 3rd February we had a visit to Science Action Centre at Bishop’s Stortford College

    I had a great time at the science centre were I saw many different things

    There was a spinning wheel with spots on it that tricked your eyes. You had to look at the wheel for 15 seconds then look at your palm and it would trick your eyes and look like your palm is spinning around. That’s why it’s called the squirming palm.

    There was one experiment where there was a tube and a heavy object and you put it down the tube and it goes down the tube slowly. There were holes in the tube that let air in to it to make it go slower. This was called the anti-gravity machine.

    There was a Tardis, like Doctor Who’s with mirrors that made it looked bigger. There was a model of the galaxy and you could turn the sun off or you could make the galaxy go faster or slower by turning a switch. There was also a plasma ball that glows up and sends electric current down your body when you touch it.

    We also played with 3d shape bubbles that you can’t pop unless you stamp on them because they are super strong.

    The second part of the trip was like a treasure hunt. We had a sheet with letters on it and we had to match letters to objects around the room and describe them.

    I had a great visit to the science centre and really liked it.

  6. Sebastian says:

    On Wednesday 3.2.16 we all went to the Science Action Center at Bishops Stortford College. 4m went from 8:25am till 11:45am then after first break we came. On the way there I sat next to Ty we talked about Mine craft cheats and what our favourite food was. Mine was Pizza, Ty’s was Caramel Wafers. It was so exciting to be going on a school trip. When we got there, we all went through an amazing building full of fun experiments we could do. I said to Ty the fun starts here.

    The class and I ate our lunches and started to do the activity’s. The first one I did was the voice recorder. You have to make low or high sounds and the zig zag went up and down. Next I went in the mirror time machine. It looked so big on the outside but inside it was small. Last I went to the stone dropper where you drop a heavy white stone down a hole and it goes down slowly. After we had to do a test where you do the experiments again and write down your answers. I sat next to Toju on the way back. My favourite part of the day was the wind bazooker.

  7. Theo says:

    On Wednesday the 3rd February my classmates and I went to Bishops Stortford College. When we arrived the first thing we did was have lunch and afterwards we went to explore.

    The first thing I came across were tin cans that had the names of the planets in our solar system labeled on them. By holding the tin cans in your hand, you had to work out which of the planets is the lightest and which one the heaviest. I thought that Mars was the lightest and Neptune was the heaviest. The weird thing was that the cans all said 907kg so it was really hard to tell.

    My favourite science experiment was where you had to look at the picture for thirteen seconds and then look at your hand. It was really freaky because when you looked at your hand the lines in your hand moved. I thought it was trying to hypnotise me, but I soon realised that it was an amazing optical illusion.

    I also liked the experiment where you spun a box round and looked through the slits. When I looked through the slits I found that it was like a film, because when you looked at it it had pictures of cats and eagles. It looked like a film because they were moving and it looked like the pictures were moving to.

    We were given a sheet is paper to write what we thought about the experiments that we studied and explain how they worked. I enjoyed discovering and learning fantastic facts about science such as how magnets work, optical illusions and gravity.

    I had a great time and after that experience I realised that I want to be scientist, when I am older.

  8. Ehsen says:

    Last Wednesday we went to the Science Action Centre. This was an outstanding hands on science experiment centre. When we arrived we waited for an expert to take us to the building. The centre was in Bishop Stortford School. The school was very big and was a boarding school. When we got to the centre the expert explained to us the safety rules, after that we ate our lunch.

    After lunch we went to explore the place. First I went to the Tardis from Doctor Who, but it wasn’t the same as the one you see on television. Inside it had some camouflaged mirrors which you couldn’t see. Then there was also a step which made it look like you were spinning, like the Tardis in the television programme does when it travels. The mirrors made an optical illusion which made you feel like the Tardis was huge, when it wasn’t really. Three triangle shaped mirrors made the illusion. When I first went in the Tardis I bumped my head as I thought it was actually bigger than it was!

    Then I tried out the Gravity Machine! It made a little stone float in the air in a steel tube for a while. Unfortunately it did not float fully, as that is impossible, and it kept sinking slowly. The stone floated either because of air or magnets pushing it up. Air would work if it was blowing through the tube and holding the stone up, which means that the stone would fall slower! Magnet force would work if there was a magnet in the stone and another at the bottom of the tube repelling it.

    We had a lovely time and saw lots of other amazing and interesting things like the ‘Shake Hands With Yourself’, which was a bent mirror that made everything look like it was touching you. There was also ‘The Building Bridges’, which taught you how not all atoms fit together but others do. I learnt a whole lot of things that I will never forget. At the end, Miss Craig, Mrs Chronias, and the our class travelled back to our school!

    • lochinver4jch says:

      Well done Ehsen. You have included lots of detail and written very well. 3 credits

  9. Niam V says:

    On the 3rd February 2016 4C and 4M went on a school trip to Bishop’s Stortford College. 4M went in the morning and 4C went in the afternoon. We went on a mini bus called the Golden Boy and I was starving because we were late on the mini bus but lunch had already started. Mrs Craig came to the trip to explain how some of the Science extraordinaire and also chose who was the winner of the sustainable pack lunch. When we got to the College we luckily had our lunch and Mrs Craig came round inspecting who had the most sustainable pack lunch. After we ate our pack lunch the teachers let us experiment all of the experiments they were really amazing. My favourite experiment was The Anti Gravity Machine, the machine was were there was a small heavy cylinder which you put down a cylinder with round holes and you dropped the small cylinder down the hole and it was kind of slow-motion when you dropped it. I also like the tardis, which is a room that expands. There was noughts and crosses but on a side there was no board and the board was on a wall. Then we finished our fun time and we had to do a sheet, where there were letters on the wall and you had to complete the question according to what the experiment works out to be. After we finished the sheet we gathered our belongings and we headed back to Lochinver House School. I had a Brilliant time at Bishop’s Stortford College.

    By Niam .V.

  10. Thanasis says:

    Visit to Bishop’s Stortford College

    On the 3rd of January we visited Bishop’s Stortford College.
    It was really big. Some times we got lost.
    We did many things there. All of the objects were about science. These are some of the objects.

    1. On the first picture there is a coin and a very sticky metal part and something to balance it. This is what you do you first. The stand is built the two metal bits on the stand. Then you pace a coin. There are 10 1p coins. Over the first coin only there is this sticky metal. Then you see how many coins can stick together. I saw that 7 stick in then it falls because there was too much weight. 3 1p coins left, I nearly did it L.

    2. Now to the noughts and crosses. Well you see it is normal, but no. It is not. Well on the left you see that is normal. On the other side there are no squares. This is why. There is a red mirror so what ever is on the other side will reflect. I drew once and won once.

    3.There is a spiral. If you look at it makes you dizzy. So you stare at the spiral for about more than 15 seconds. When your partner shouts GO! You look at the wall. Then every thing you see is just lines. :-p

    4. There is his like wind gun. You shoot it from far then in about 2 seconds the wind will come in you face. And there is this really weird feeling. It sort of pushes you back a little. That is why I am laughing

    continued…………. :-l

  11. Zac says:

    On the 3rd of February 2016 Year 4 went to the science college in Bishop’s Stortford and there was a great amount of extremely interesting experiments to do. One of the experiments is the plasma ball which is a clear plastic ball on a stand. When you touch the plasma ball all of the electricity inside disappears and goes to your hand.

    Another experiment is a noughts and crosses game where you have a red glass window upright in the middle of a table. There is a side that is blank and a side where the noughts and crosses board is. When you place your nought or cross on the blank side you can see where you placed it on the board.

    There is a Japanese singing fountain which is a bowl with water in it and handles that are on the top at the sides. If you get the palm of your hands wet and rub the handles rhythmically the bowl makes a low noise and squirts water at you.
    The last experiment I’m going to explain is a beach ball that floats in the air when you turn on a switch. This happens because air flows quickly through some tubes that sit on a stand to push the ball high into the air.

  12. Niam P says:

    On Wednesday 3rd February we went to Bishops Stortford College to visit the the Science Action Centre. We got on the coach and set off, it took one hour to get there. Once we arrived I was relieved to get off of the coach. We lined up in our pairs and then we walked over to the Science Action Centre. The first experiment I did was an optical illusion. This is where you spin a circle and look at it for a long time. Then you look at the wall and it looks like the wall is moving. For some strange reason it didn’t work with me. Another experiment was an anti-gravity machine. You put a piece of chalk inside a metal tube and somehow it looks like it is going very slowly. My favourite experiment was where you had a bowl of water with two handles. You put your hands in the water then rub the handles and for some people the water would move, again this did not work on me!! Another of the experiments was were you have a Tardis and you go inside and it has a big mirror which made it look like it was massive.
    After we had a test which used all of the experiments we had explored. Once I finished it was time to go back to school. This was one of the most enjoyable and rewarding trips ever.

  13. louis says:

    On Wednesday we went to Bishop’s Stortford College to their Science Action Centre. My favourite part was the optical illusion where I had to spin a black and white disc and then look at the wall afterwards. When I looked at the wall it appeared to be spinning which I thought was very strange. Another illusion I enjoyed was a poster of cogs where it looked like they were moving but they actually weren’t! I especially liked the anti-gravity machine where you drop a piece of cork wrapped in tin foil (it was very heavy) down a metal tube. As it was falling I looked inside of the tube and it seemed to be falling really slowly. I have two theories about this. The first one is that the cork was actually a magnet and the metal tube sides were slowing it down. My other theory is that it had something to do with the holes in the side of the metal tube.

    I enjoyed playing noughts and crosses with my friends. The reason I enjoyed it was because it was different from normal noughts and crosses. The players were opposite each other and there was a piece of red perspex in between the players. The grid was on one of the sides. Each player placed their noughts and crosses on their own side but they were looking at the perspex like a screen.

    I had a great day but just to top it all off I won the prize for most sustainable lunch! The lunch contained: a smoked salmon and cream cheese sandwich, some chipsticks and an apple.

  14. Ty says:

    I enjoyed our school trip the Science Centre. When we came in it was a long trip there so we had lunch straight away. I had a chicken sandwich and a pack of raisins. After lunch we had a explore around the room. I liked the illusions on the left side of the room, you span a portal circle and stared at it closely for 10 seconds then you looked at a wall. It made a funny feeling that you were in a portal. Another illusion was a spinning disc and you stared at it for 30 seconds then looked at your palm and it looked like you palm was being twisted. Mostly in the room there were displays of planets and body parts , but I looked at the objects. Also there were 9 jars filled with seeds (heavy) and you picked them up and it was the weight of a planet. There was a microphone you talked into and it came up with the amount of sound you made with you voice. There was a mirror room with lots of mirrors and it made you turn into 100 you’s.There was a big table with items and materials and you used a magnet to see which items were magnetic, and which ones were not. Another table was set up next to the illusions table. On the table were sea shells and in one shell there were whispers inside. I was most intrested with the jars of seeds and planets. After all that exploring we did a sheet to find out about science. Every display had a letter next to it . and you had to go around and answer the questions given. We had a hour to do the sheet so I wasn’t panicked. Sadly after that we had to go home. But I had fun on the way back on the bus. I was sitting next to Ehsen but for some reason I couldn’t stop laughing! I think I had a sugar rush.

  15. Yash says:

    Trip to Bishop Stortford College – 4/2/16

    On the way to the Science Centre in Bishop’s Stortford College it took 46 mins on the coach. When we arrived a lady welcomed us and led us to the Action Centre. The college was very big and children were allowed to board here. I liked the school very much and want to come here when I’m older! When we went inside we put our lunch away by the coat area and sat down on the carpet in the middle of the room. The lady explained the safety rules then we ate our lunch together.

    After we ate our lunch the lady said we can go and look around anywhere we wanted too. I was very excited to go and explore all the gadgets. My favourite one was the gravity machine, when you dropped a weighted cylinder down a small tube and it went in slow motion and floated. There was other things like you could play noughts and crosses, when I played this game with Louis you couldn’t see the other player noughts through the red glass, you could only see yours. I really enjoyed this!

    There was also a time travel machine where you could see the past, present and future. This was like the one from the Doctor Who. When you stepped inside the machine you could not see anything and the mirrors on the wall made it look bigger.

    There was also a funny mirror on the wall and when you stand in front of it it made your legs look longer than they are. I liked this mirror a lot.

    We were given a worksheet and we had to each fill out. After you completed our sheets we had some more time to go around before we left to go back to school. We spent a total of 4hrs there and left at 3 o’clock. This day was one of the best trip we have been on and I have learnt so much on how these experiments work.

  16. kushal k says:

    On the 3rd of February we went to Bishop Stortford’s science action centre.It took around 40 to 45 minutes to get there.(It was a really really long drive in the coach) After we got of the bus we went into the action centre,Then we had some lunch.I had sweet and spicy crackers,sandwiches and water.After that we had a look around, the first thing that caught my eye was the Chinese singing bowl. You have to make a rhythm with your hands on the handles of the bowl and if you did it right it will make a sound and the water will rise.

    The next thing I saw was THE ANTI-GRAVITY TUBE or MACHINE!!!(it was in capitals),Its a tube where you drop a cork at the top and let it fall.The cork slows down in the tube.I also saw a saying that said ‘to cure a bee sting put bicarbonate soda on the sting and for wasp stings put vinegar’.There was also optical illusion that tricked your brain really good. In the afternoon we had to do a question sheet, some of us completed it and some did’nt but I did.There was a mirror that if you stand close you will get taller and thinner,but if you stand back you become really small fat and chubby. After all that fun we had to go back to school.I really liked the science action centre.

  17. Ratshan says:

    On Wednesday we went to Bishop’s Stortford school. First the other class were going there and we were going after them. After break we all came back to the class room, after we got our packed lunches we all got on to the coach. It took half an hour to get there, when we got there a lady showed us where the science department was.

    When we got there she said we could have our lunch. My lunch was delicious. When we all finished our lunches she said we would try everything out. So she put us in places, then she said we could try stuff, there were different kinds of stuff there. There was a Japanese bowl that could make music when you rubbed your hands on it, there was spiral and it would go round and round and if you looked at it and looked at something else it would look weird. After we looked at everything she all gave us a paper to do. It included finding numbers for the right answer on the things that we looked at.

    It was a tiny bit hard and when we did that she said we could look at the thing again. My favourite thing was the coin magnet if you put a magnet on the coin you could put loads of coins. It is really cool when it was then end we all went back on the coach and went back, it was really fun.

  18. Toju says:

    On Wednesday 3rd February we went to Bishop’s Stortford School to see their science centre. We took the Golden Boy coach to the school I sat next to Jack, the journey took about 30 minutes. When we arrived there, a lady showed us the way to the science centre. We ate our lunch and started looking around.

    First I went to the fake Tardis, there were lots of mirrors which made it look bigger. There was a zoetrope, electric model of the solar system, glasses that made pictures 3D,scanner that showed the inside of things, a poster with circles which seemed to be moving, a magic tap and clock, anti-gravity machine, volley ball that floats on air and a magnet that attracts to different materials.

    I found the anti- gravity machine fascinating because when you drop a pellet down the metal tube inside, it goes slowly. When I wore the 3D glasses, I looked at lots of different books and pictures. The pictures looked very real and looked like it was bursting out. A swarm of wasps from the book looked very real. Touching the plasma ball was also exciting, a pink light always followed your finger on the ball.

    Afterwards we got a worksheet from a lady, it had questions from A-M, which is about the whole centre with questions about different things. I finished the sheet, most people did. When the time to do the sheet was up, we gave it with our name on it to the teachers. We went back on the coach and back to School. I sat next to Seb going back. I had a fantastic day and would like to go back again.

  19. William P says:

    I really enjoyed the school trip to St Bishops Stortford College. I especially liked the plasma ball which was attracted to my hands. The tardis was very cool it looked small and I wanted go inside it so I did. I accidently walked into a mirror!
    I then went over to some large tins of maple syrup and I looked at a laminated sheet which I read. It told me that the tins’ weights were the same as it would be on other planets! Jupiter, which has the strongest gravity felt the heaviest and Mercury, which has the weakest gravity felt the lightest.
    I really liked the air-filled beach ball and the strong air shooting up from the block of wood. I liked it when the ball shot up into the air. It showed me that air can be very strong and can lift things up. Newton’s Cradle was really interesting, it was three big black balls hanging from ropes. I didn’t understand what it was but thought it was amazing how the force could be transferred from a ball at one end to the ball at the other end through the middle ball. One of my favourite things was the noughts and crosses game where on one side of a table there was a noughts and crosses grid and a red screen divided from the other side of the table. When someone on the noughts and crosses side moved one of their pieces, the other person could see where they had put their pieces by looking at the screen – I’m still not sure how it worked.
    It was a really great trip.

  20. Alex says:

    On Wednesday 3rd February we went on a Science school trip to Bishop Stortford College so we could look at, touch and take part in lots of different science experiments .When we got there we had our lunch, I had a yummy sandwich, sausage rolls and doritos.
    After we had our lunch we looked at all the science experiments.My favourite one was a ball in mid air which had been pushed up there by lots of air so it was floating.When you held it,it tried to suck the ball back in. My other favourite one was two pieces of wood near to each other, a wooden cylinder and a cone shaped cylinder. The wooden cylinder rolled straight down to the bottom but the cone shaped cylinder rolled straight up the two wooden planks.
    I also liked the gravity tube where you put magnet down a tube and there are holes on one side. When you put the magnet down the tube it spirals down and it looks like it’s floating.
    Afterwards we looked around and we had to fill in a worksheet. You had go around the different science experiments and answer the questions about why the things happened e.g. why does it roll up and why does the other one roll down. After that we went back on the coach back to school.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar