4C's Blog

Blogging our work to the world!

Our trip to Hatfield House – 19th October 2016

on 19/10/2016

img_0538 img_0542 img_0544 img_0550 img_0551 img_0559 img_0560


19 Responses to “Our trip to Hatfield House – 19th October 2016”

  1. Marios C says:

    My favourite part of our trip to Hatfield House was the man talking about the long bow. When he mentioned this I thought of my homework over the holidays which is going to be about Tudor weapons. I thought I could add that in to my homework. I also liked when I learnt about how they used their animals and what they needed them for. I really liked it when we went to the playground because I could play with all my friends and I had a really great time. My favourite thing about the whole trip was meeting Henry VIII!

  2. Ben Pr says:

    I really liked Hatfield House and I liked seeing the weapons and Henry VIII. I learned a tudor punishment – that if you were a traitor then you would be burned alive. If you were lucky then your family might come with a bag of gunpowder to stop the dreaded pain to go to your head. You would be tied on a stick with a little bonfire by your feet and then someone would set fire to it.

  3. Alex says:

    Hatfield House was really interesting. One of the most interesting facts I heard during the visit was that if a person said a bad thing about King Henry VIII then they would be strapped to a log and a bonfire would be built around their feet. The bonfire would be set alight and the person would be burnt alive. However, if they were lucky the person would have a gun powder barrel (full of gun powder) placed on their head and they would die a less painful death as the gun powder exploded. Not very nice!

  4. lochinver4jch says:

    From James R

    HATFIELD HOUSE

    One of the first things we did was see an archer. He said the long bow was better because it can go further (300 metres) but you need a lot of strength to pull the bow back. People on the Mary Rose used long bows but had twisted spines because of this. Then we went and saw the lovely gardens a man said there was a massive maze but people got lost and they made holes in the walls to get out now it is not open to the public.

    Then we went into a hall and saw a minstrel who guided us through the song. We saw Catharine Parr and then we met Henry VIII then we had lunch. I learnt there was a breed of sheep that is white and is farmed for its meat because they have more meat and less fat. At the end we went on the playground and me and my friends played hide and seek it. Then we went back to Lochinver.

    JAMES R

  5. Sebastian MG says:

    My trip to Hatfield House

    When we went to Hatfield House we met the tour guide who said his sons went to Lochinver when they were young. After, we met a Minstrel and Catherine Parr who was Henry VIII sixth wife. When we were there we practised ‘Summer is icoming in’ with the minstrel. Then, they chose me to give Henry VIII his gift, which was a painting of his family. Henry VIII was telling us about all his wives. We had lunch and later we went to the farm where some ladies told us about what animals in Tudor times were used for. After this a Knight told us about Knight’s weapons, he said that a long bow could shoot to about 300 metres. Then we got to play in Bloody Hollow and later we left.

    By Sebastian M.G

  6. Aidan says:

    I really enjoyed going to Hatfield House. We got to see Henry VIII who told us about a bad ulcer on his leg that he got from jousting. We also met a soldier who told us that it was illegal to play football on Sunday. Instead, you would have to do archery practice and if you shot somebody accidentally, it was ok. We also learnt that a longbow can shoot 300 metres and if you did something bad, you might have a ring of fire put round you so the fat from your hands would burn off and you would die. If you were lucky, your family would put gunpowder on you so you would die more quickly.

  7. Jonny says:

    First we made our way to Hatfield House on the Golden Boy coach. When we got there we arrived at the front of the house. Then we met our guide. He took us round to the Maze garden. It was called that because it looked like a maze, it was beautiful. There used to be a maze that was 9 foot tall and people started to break through the hedges when they got lost so they shut it down. After that we met a minstrel and Catherine Parr that helped us perform our song to Henry VIII. Next we went to see a soldier who told us if you are in battle and you want to hit someone with an arrow instead of taking it out of your back you take it out of the ground because they use poo to make the grass grow so your enemy would get a disease from the poo if they didn’t die from the arrow. Then we had lunch! After that we went to the farm and saw the animals, my favourite animal was the baby goat. We then made our way to Bloody Hollow and I played hide and seek and then we made our way back to Lochinver House School!

  8. Mario says:

    I really enjoyed this trip. I was looking forward to meeting King Henry Vlll. I thought King Henry Vlll would be mean but he wasn’t. He was kind. Singing the song to him was fun. My favourite part was learning about the long bow. It is a weapon that the men on foot would use. It’s a very big weapon to use and you need a lot of strength to pull the bow back. I found learning about the animals and food they used to eat interesting. I liked the play area because the equipment was fun to play on. I’m happy that we went.

  9. gabrieldan says:

    My favourite part of our trip to Hatfield house was the part when we got to look at the long bow. I found it interesting how they had to practise every day. This made some strong men have twisted spines. I also enjoyed looking at the types of animals they ate and farmed. Especially the Peacock and types of pigs. The big mazes that are now not open to public. They were bigger than I first imagined.

  10. William says:

    The first thing we did at Hatfield House was a trip to see the stone statues of Queen Elizabeth the First and her various courtiers, these are all in the grounds of the house. After this we visited the Royal Garden and it had a really cool maze in it. My favourite thing was meeting Henry VIII and going to see the farm. I thought Henry VIII was very funny and he told me his favourite wife was Anne Boleyn because she gave him a son called Edward. I also really loved all the funny ducks with the sticky out feathers!

  11. Ben M says:

    I loved the trip to Hatfield House. My two favourite parts were
    meeting King Henry VIII and learning about the weapons and armoury. The most fascinating part was when the man told us that when people practised shooting their bow and arrows their backs get twisted! Also, if they shot someone whilst practising, they wouldn’t get in trouble or tortured. Lucky for that!

  12. Harry R says:

    The journey to Hatfield House was quite short. It took around 15 minutes or so. All I did was look outside the window, nothing much! When we got there, I was a bit surprised at what Hatfield House actually looked like. In my head, I imagined it being more grand looking. The guide told us that he sent all his 3 sons to Lochinver House school and he also said that everyone parks on his drive. The guide took us through a door that led into a sort of garden. My group walked straight ahead. The other group turned left. My group got to see a garden that had a sort of mini maze filled with plants. Next the guide took us to a sculpture showing people of the parliament and how they dressed at the time. Elizabeth was in the middle. I have to say, lots of important bits like hands and legs were missing!
    Next we went through a building that was a kitchen with lots of pots and pans. We then saw the Minstrel who helped us learn the words for ‘summer is icummem in loudly sings cuckoo growth seed and bloweth mead Springs the word anew, sing cuckoo’ Four people were chosen to go at the front for the meeting with Henry the VIII. The rest of us followed and we filled up the seats. There were lots of empty seats left. Two of the 4 classmates gave Henry the VIII wine and food. The other two revealed a portrait of the whole Tudor family starting with Henry VIII. The wife that he chose was his 3rd wife. Then we sang the song and he told us all about his life including the sad bits. Next we went up some steps that led to our next activity which was weapons and armoury. First the weapon expert said “I am Henry the VIII most loyal soldier”. He told us about weapons and how long bow can shoot over 300m. Another thing I didn’t know was that the long bow could weigh 179kgs and most shocking of all -Victoria made her men use 200kgs of bow so that they had twisted spines and couldn’t join the army. Next we visited the farm where we saw some goats and some of us got to touch them. The animal expert said that some of these animals in the Tudor times wouldn’t be here because they would slaughtered for food. Lunch was the next activity after which we caught the bus back to the school. It was an interesting day.

  13. lochinver4jch says:

    From Ben Pa:

    ALL ABOUT MY SHOOL TRIP
    I thought Henry VIII was really funny because he was always staring at me. It was really strange and he would have been surprised to know that there is a women at the throne right now. And I thought the soldier was the coolest because he was talking about weapons. One of the arrows had hooks on it and it looked like it was dangerous if you were shot.
    And I thought that Henry VIII’S wife was really kind. I thought that Hatfield house was big. I also liked the playground because it had interesting features, houses and swings. It had a lot of space to run around and I enjoyed having my lunch there with my friends. I enjoyed looking at the garden. It was like a little maze. The little fountain was interesting. The statues of the babies looked very unusual.

  14. Nikhil says:

    My trip to Hatfield House was really fun.The best part was when we saw the Tudor Animal Farm. We saw giant pigs,goats and horses. If we still lived in the Tudor times, everyone would have a giant pig. The farmers didn’t earn very much because they had to wait for the animals to breed. There was another part on our tour where we saw lots weapons. There was a special weapon which the Tudors used and it was called THE LONG BOW. This weapon was 2 metres long and the tip of the arrow was dipped into dung so that when it was used the dung would infect the body.During the war against the French, this weapon was used and it killed a lot of the French soldiers.
    Next we saw Henry VII. He looked funny. I wanted to laugh. He suddenly started to speak really loudly and the he felt really scary. I had a really good trip to Hatfield House.

  15. Marcus says:

    The trip to Hatfield House was very interesting.
    My most favourite part was meeting Henry the VIII because he told us about his life as a king. He described how he felt when he married to his wives. As an example he told us about Jane Seymor who gave him a son. it was quite a fascinating talk.
    I have learnt a lot of facts about Hatfield House and its history.
    I think that all of us had a lovely day!

  16. Henry says:

    I really enjoyed are school trip to Hatfield House. First we went to see where Henry v111’s children lived. Their names were Mary, Edward, and Elizabeth . After that we went to see Henry v111’s music presenter and his last wife. Then we went to Henry v111’s room and sang one of his favourite songs. After we sang he told us all about his wives. Then we went to see Henry V111’s look out and he told us that some long bowers aim so much their backs curve. Then we went to the animals that would have been alive in the Tudor times. And finally we went the Bloody Hollow. There were mini houses that we could play in. It was awesome.

  17. lochinver4jch says:

    From Thomas:

    My first school trip with Lochinver House School
    I went to visit Hatfield House with Class 4. It was sunny and quite warm for an autumn day. We drove through an avenue of trees to approach the house. We could see it looked very impressive. Hatfield House is well known for being the place where Elizabeth I found out that she became queen. She found out while she was sitting under a great oak tree reading a book.
    But it is also interesting for other reasons.
    The most interesting thing about my school trip was examining the long bow. It was made of wood, light in colour. It felt smooth to the touch. It was so long that when you stood it on its end it was taller than me! It would have taken someone with a great deal of strength to use the bow.
    I didn’t know that Hatfied House also had a farm. This was my favourite part of the journey was the farm. A lady showed us around the farm and told us about the animals. The farm was quiet and calm. I fed goats, stroked sheep and I saw donkey’s. I especially enjoyed the fat pigs.

  18. matthew says:

    Our Trip to Hatfield House and the Old Palace
    I really enjoyed our trip to Hatfield House, it was just what I had imagined. We learnt that the Old Palace was built by the Bishop of Ely, John Morton, 550 years ago. It would have been a massive house, but unfortunately we only saw a quarter of it as the rest had been knocked down. The Tudors liked to use burnt bricks to make patterns in the wall, and the Old Palace is the best example in the country.
    Henry the 8th bought the Palace from the Bishop. My favourite part was when Henry the 8th spoke to us. He asked us whether he should divorce, behead or stay married to Anne Boleyn. He didn’t want to stay married to her because she hadn’t given him a son, which was very important to him. I thought he should have stayed married because it wasn’t her fault and she had a daughter Elizabeth, but she was beheaded.
    After visiting Hatfield House I was inspired to do my project on Tudor weapons, although I wish I could have done it on the funny pigs.

    Matthew

  19. lochinver4jch says:

    From Leo:

    HATFIELD HOUSE TRIP
    By Leo Mouskis

    On Wednesday 19th October we had a school trip to Hatfield House. Hatfield House was built by the Bishop of Ely John Morton in 1485. Henry VIII acquired the palace from the Bishop around 1538 and used it as a nursery for his children.
    When we arrived outside Hatfield House we met our guide. He told us what Elizabeth, Mary and Edward did for education. It was interesting to find out that Elizabeth was kept under house arrest by Mary because she was threatened by Elizabeth popularity amongst her followers. After, our guide took us around the house to the Knot Garden. The garden was beautifully landscaped with the maze, flowers and a fountain in the middle. Near the garden there was a stone carving which showed Queen Elizabeth surrounded by the important men.
    Inside the house we met Catherine Parr and the Minstrel (musician). Catherine showed us how to bow to someone a higher rank then you. Then we practised our song “Summer is incummen in” with the Minstrel. Catherine Parr showed us the painting of Henry VIII and his family. In the painting we saw Prince Edward, Princess Elizabeth, Princess Mary and Henry’s favourite wife Jane Seymour. Our class has presented Henry VII with the portrait as a present. Once we gave him our present we sang our song “Summer is incummen”. Then Henry VIII told us about his 6 wives and how he divorced them.
    Before lunch, we met the Army man who told us about the longbow, strategies and positions during the war. According to the law, the longbow had to be practised every Sunday and if anyone was killed you wouldn’t go to jail. It was also known that the long bow men on the Mary Rose boat had twisted spines because it was so hard to pull the longbow back.
    After we had our lunch we went to the farm. At the farm we saw chicken, pheasants, ducks, horses, pigs and goats. To finish our fun trip we went to the playground called “Bloody Hollow”.
    I really enjoyed my day at Hatfield House!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar